Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Looking for FPGA with processor (pros and cons of types)

Status
Not open for further replies.

nyep

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
FPGA with Processor

Hi people!!

I'm a student, who's currently doing a research for my professor. I am supposed to look for FPGAs with processor. Can anyone tell me which manufacturer has such FPGA? If possibe, can anyone recommend me which FPGA with processor is better? Any reply would be high appreciated. Thanks.

FPGA with Processor

The prcessor in FPGA has two different kind: Soft and hard. The soft processor uses processors VHDL or Verilog code and implement them on FPGA logic resource. So you do not need special hardware, and this type do not restrictd to specific vendor. Example are Xilinx Microblaze, PicoBlaze. Ana generic 32-bit and 8-bit processors are ready at web, example: Pacoblaze.

Second type is the processor which is implemented in FPGA fabric not logic, example are Xilinx PPC in Virtex II Pro familay, Virtex4-FX familay,

Datasheet and demo board are available at Xilinx.com,

Also take a look at Niose in Altera.com

Re: FPGA with Processor

Also Lattice's soft cores LatticeMico8 and LatticeMico32.

ep20k

as johnson said, it depends on which type of processor you want to use; softcore or hardcore...
you have microblaze for soft
and powerpc for hard
these are both available from xilinx

altera has the nios II processor which is a soft processor

there's also the cortex processor, developed by ARM in collaboration with Actel

FPGA with Processor