Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

load pull of EF class amplifier

Inna89

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello!
I'm doing research in wireless power transfer (WPT). So I need to do load pull analysis for laboratory amplifier EF class in order to find optimal output impedance of it. Because I'm new in it I have a question: how I should choose impedance of source, input power level and Vbias in order to get quality results?
1691148975774.png

This forum has several discussions about optimizing wireless power setups. An Edaboard or internet search can help you as much as anything else.

In comparison there's the old-fashioned 'crystal' radio receiver that needs no power supply. It runs on power from the airwaves (radio waves). It's built around a coil and capacitor. Usually one or the other is tunable.

I think the main optimizing is in making your receiver's resonant frequency match the sending frequency.

You want the resonating circuit to produce sufficient voltage so that it overcomes diode thresholds and/or battery voltages. You want it to produce sufficient current to be of practical use.
This can be done by certain size of receiving coil, and suitable combination of values of coil and capacitor. The values should allow sufficient Ampere level at your sending frequency.

As it turns out there's a certain combination of voltage and current going through your circuit that accomplishes the above. After you read about other experimenters' results it becomes clear that you're lucky if you can generate enough power to light a plain red led.

THa