Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Limiting variable DC power source

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blueboy7

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,
Total noob here.
I need some help with a 24 VDC relay that I’m trying not to burn up again.
The power source is variable from 0 to 65 V depending on the time of day and how many clouds are in the sky. You guessed it, solar panels. What I’m trying to do is control a 110 VAC battery charger. The relay will be wired NC so the charger will be on when there’s no sun or too many clouds for the panels to do their job. And when the sun comes out it’ll energize the relay, opening the circuit to let the charge controller charge and maintain the batteries instead of the AC charger. I hope that makes sense. I know the AC charger contradicts the idea of having solar panels but here in Pennsylvania a clear sunny day is hard to come by.

I’m sure there’s some resistors (and other gadgets) in there somewhere, just not sure how to arrange the circuit to do what I’m trying to do.

Your help is very much appreciated!
Blue

Hi,

there are a lot of different solutions depending on what your target is:
* from rather simple
* to most power saving
* or any other optimisation

A simple solution could be
* a series resistor, and a zener across the relay coil. (shunt regulation style)
While the zener limits the coil voltage ... the "overvoltage" has to drop at the series resistor.
It consumes a lot of power and dissipates it into heat. And there no clear threshod levels for ON and OFF.