Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED display for gearindicator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nikke

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
gear indicator circuit

Hi, Im new here and not so very experienced on small circuits, but I am an electrician, but I only work with HIGH Voltage.

Here is my project. Im going to make an gear indicator for my car.
I started to draw some prints on how it should work, but now I am stuck, just getting shorts everywhere. :oops:

This is how I want it to work.
I have 6 inputs from sensors. I want to translate every input to a digit on a LED display. (Image attached for the LED display I am using. Common Anod/Catod. That means that I can put + & - on whichever I want right?)

If input 1 is active; B and C should light up to form the digit 1. For that pin 9 and 7 should get power right?
If input 2 is active; A, B, E, G and D should light up to form the digit 2.
Etc...

Can someone draw a simple drawing to help me get on line? I want to make a simple and not so expensive display. Not with expensice PLC or Stamp's.

gear indicator schematics

You have to use diodes not to get shorts here.

Ante :roll:

gear indicator schematic

Ok, serial on every pin? Maybe thats it. Am I that stupid!? :wink:

Like this? (see attachment)

tip126 7-segment

I would need lots of diods then. If its like that.

So what type should I get? Rectifier, schothy, zener?

Also, is this how to connect the display? Plus on the pins for the digit I want to lit? Minus on the common anod/catod?