Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ISE 11.4 EDK & Spartan3E Starter Kit

Status
Not open for further replies.

headup

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi! i'm new in EDK, please excuse me if the question is stuped. i have a little problem - i use EDK ISE 11.4 to generate microblaze system with BSB. ok, next step i test_mem project generated by SDK. i run it on target (spartan-3e starter kit, rev D) and ddr test pass successfully, but FLASH test failed in all 8/16/32 bits mode. i can't understand - is this problem in v11.4 ot my board is demaged? if i try to boot fpga from platform flash (base test, by default) - there is no problem. i look in ucf file and some strange constraints are placed for platform flash address bus - in user manual ug230 they are a little different. someone to have this problem too? or the problem is "in my TV" :D

Is the starter kit from Xilinx or Digilent? Beware there are differences in the UCF depending on the manufacture. I have both Xilinx and Digilent Spartan 3E boards and even though Digilent provides a PDF users guide that looks identical to the Xilinx PDF from their website, there are clear differences in the sample UCFs at the end of the PDF. Even components as simple as LEDs have different constraints.

Make sure you have selected the right board and version in BSB.

If its UCF issue as bigdogguru said, you can manually cross verify by looking at the datasheet and make the changes accordingly.