Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Interfacing with Society of the Plastic Industry (SPI)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sns8

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have a chiller with a SPI (Society of the Plastics Industry) communication port. I am trying to communicate to the chiller through my labview RS 485 program. I understand this protocol is ascii binary, 8 bit no parity. I do have the baud rate and the device address too. However, I've never used ascii before, especially writing information to another machine and reading information from it. I have found ASCII tables with control character. Do I begin with these control characters, ex) (start header, start text), then the device address and baud rate, and then insert commands to retrieve information from the chiller?

Sorry if this is elementary for someone, it's Greek to me.

Thanks!

Hi

You may not be getting many hits on your post due to its title. SPI stands for Serial Peripheral Bus, not the Society for the Plastics Industry. SPI is a serial bus protocol, as is RS-485. However RS-485 uses differential signaling and SPI does not. SPI also has no start bits or stop bits. I have never used either the Labview program or RS-485, but it would likely take some work to bridge RS-485 and SPI.

As for the data that needs to be sent to your chiller, you will need to get its data sheet for those details. There are no standard headers, etc in SPI. Each device is different.

r.b.

r.b.