Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Importing data from VNA to ADS2004A

Status
Not open for further replies.

tyassin

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
465
Helped
85
Reputation
168
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,271
Hi

I have some measurements from a VNA. The VNA saved the measurement as:
DATA00.S1 and DATA00.D1

How do import these in ADS2004A?
I just need them in a dataset for plotting and etc.

If anybody knows how please advise.

Thank you.
 

danda821

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jun 18, 2002
Messages
139
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
1,083
If possible, you can connect the PC with VNA using a GPIB cable. Then you can collect the data in ADS. Or you can input the data in data viewer in ADS ( you need to select the right data type)
 

xxargs

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 28, 2002
Messages
229
Helped
44
Reputation
88
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,642
tyassin said:
Hi

I have some measurements from a VNA. The VNA saved the measurement as:
DATA00.S1 and DATA00.D1

How do import these in ADS2004A?
I just need them in a dataset for plotting and etc.

If anybody knows how please advise.

Thank you.


HP VNA ??

DATA00.S1 (some times also .S2) is a S-parameter list and most type of simulating program can import this directly (possible after rename filename extension).

DATA00.D1 is same thing but different writing order and in rectangular notation and many simulation program can not import this directly.
 

yanr_1612

Newbie level 4
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
India
Activity points
1,345
Hello Tyassin
I did the importing of VNA data into ADS2004A this way. Hope this helps you.
Open a new Data Display window in ADS2004A. Click on the button with a "Floppy and two arrows (One black and straight, the other a red and curvy)”. This will open a new window. In the new window you have to follow the steps below.

1. Mode: select Read data file into dataset
2. Data file to read: Show the location of the file you got from the VNA and select “Citifile” in the “File format to read” window
3. Dataset to write: Give a suitable name in the “Dataset Name” field
4. The last step is to click on “Read File” button.

Your data is read and is ready to use in the Data display window. The data is stored under the name you give in step 3. If this doesn’t work repeat the same steps with a change in the name you give in step 3.

Kind Regards
YANR
 

tyassin

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
465
Helped
85
Reputation
168
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,271
Hi yanr_1612

Yes that did the trick.
Thank you very much

Regards
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top