Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need help in designing an IR emitter and sensor circuit with ANALOG VOLTAGE OUTPUT

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxima_diesel

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, Im a student and we have a project where we are designing a touchless air piano (similar effect to this: A New Instrument - how it works - YouTube). I am in charge in designing the sensors. Basically the sensors would have to detect the distance of the hand from the sensor. The output should be analog in between 0 to 5V, this output is connected to an ADC to be interpreted. The distance of the hand to the sensor is needed for velocity calculation. So basically the close the hand gets to the sensor the louder the air piano's key would get. I have done some research prior to this post but a little assistance would help a lot from you guys. I have tested modulated sensors with different carrier frequencies and I used 555 timer to set the output of the emitter to the correct frequency. The only problem is that, modulated sensors like that I have used like this : http://www.rentron.com/Files/pna4601m.pdf An issue with this sensor is that the output that it generates is digital-ish, meaning when it senses an object (hand) it turns to 4.8v and when its not sensing anything its at 700mv. It isn't analog at all, It's liek there's a threshold, the only advantage of this is that its already modulated and the range is approximately 30 cm. However, I have found a sensor similar to this but the output voltage doesnt vary with distance rather with the pulse width, and when I looked at the output