Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I feel like switching to embedded systems. Need open suggestions. Please help guys..

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaishankar

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am a Masters student. currently doing VLSI. I have taken courses like Analog circuits, Analog integrated circuit layout, Advanced VLSI design, Computer Architecture, RF/Microwave Circuits.
I have worked on FPGA programming, Know C, C++, Verilog well, I recently enjoyed doing the microprocessor design in verilog.

Now,
I feel Embedded systems more fasinating than the IC/Chip design, that I am working on. This is because, I like programming so much!! I feel I would do better in embedded systems than on chip design.
I am in the penultimate semester, and don't have an opportunity to take a embedded system course(my univ dont offer it.), But I feel I can read books on embedded system, do good projects and keep myself adept by the time I graduate at the end of this year.

Can you guys tell me if switching the field is a good option for me now? Can you also tell me how difficult/easy the situation looks for me on this regard? Does my background help if I switch to embedded systems(in any way??) I accept open suggestions. Need your suggestion. Please help !!! I want to take a good decision now. Better late than never :) Please help.

Thanks in advance.

Hi there.