Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

how to use the PML in Hfss?

Status
Not open for further replies.

antenna

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
hfss pml

I am studing Hfss,but i dont know how to use the PML ,anyone can give me some infomation about it .

thx.
 

cheng

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
89
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,588
pml hfss

For the new user (unexperienced with hfss) Ansoft has implemented automatic setup of the PML . One may also build its own PML boundaries but it calls for a bit (sometimes alot) more skills and some trivial calculations beforehand. I'd suggest that you read the manual - PDF version and look at setting up the PML boundaries. You must have macros installed though to make use of it, for hfss is calling a macro to do the dirty job of defining the PMLs. After you're done you must define the PML material properties in the Materials Manager by invoking PmlMatSetup macro. It is very intuitive and easy to set. Should you get in troubles ring the bell:).

cheers,
 

loucy

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
414
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,657
pmlcoversetup

While on the topic, can anyone give some experience on the performance difference between PML and the "old" radiation boundary in HFSS?
 

loucy

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
414
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,657
pml+hfss

While on the topic, can anyone give some experience on the performance difference between PML and the "old" radiation boundary in HFSS?
 

antenna

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
pml in hfss

Hi cheng,

thx for your help.it is a new puzzle in define the thickness of the layers after invoking pmlcoversetup . I set it freely(>0), i dont know its true or false. the other question is how long does the pml locate away from my antenna.

rgds
lee
 

cheng

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
89
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,588
pml macro

Hi Lee,

The fact is that the user himself will determine the size of the region enclosed by the PMLs. When you set it up you enaclose the existing structure by the BASE box - with size defined by you and the software calculates the distances between the structure's outermost x-, y-, and z- direction and your PML Base box. The smaller the distance, the more layers the software adds and the more wild and narrowband the PML gets.
Hope it helps
 

antenna

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
rules to set pml in hfss

Hi cheng,

i see. i will learn morn about it . thank you very much!

regards
lee
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top