Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to solve Setup and Hold violation without reducing FPGA clock frequency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vlsi_freak

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
129
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,054
Hi.

Set up and hold violation is discussed a lot in this forum.

Its a good approach to minimize clk frequency to over come set up violation,

and inserting clk buffers to overcome hold violation.

Suppose i cant reduce my clk frequency in FPGA (not ASIC), is there any other method to overcome Setup and Hold violation.

Plz share ur valuable ideas.

Thanks
 

meetspraveen

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
44
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,566
FPGA Timing

i think u can reduce the frequency by writing frequency divider HDL code.
 

vlsi_freak

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
129
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,054
Re: FPGA Timing

Hi Praveen

Suppose i need to run my design in the same frequency.

wht shuld i do to remove set up and hold time violation.

wht are the methods to remove setup and hold time violation.

Thanks
 

Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
853
Helped
66
Reputation
132
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
0
FPGA Timing

When you reduce a little bit the frequency constrain, it will normaly work.
 

shockie

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
100
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
500
FPGA Timing

If you still want to keep the same frequency even there are setup violations, probably, you could redesign your circuit in the path where it has setup violations.
 

parikshitkr

Newbie level 3
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
4
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,303
Re: FPGA Timing

I think Hold timing the router should be able to solve. However for setup time violations you should add pipeline in timing critical paths. If you really have function which cannot split with a pipeline, writing your RTL in boolean equation (of-course the optimised ones) does help many times.

Parikshit
 
  • Like
Reactions: Anklon

    vlsi_freak

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

    Anklon

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

vlsi_freak

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
129
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,054
Re: FPGA Timing

Hi..

Is there any option to add Buffers to avoid hold time violation in FPGA.
If router failed to fix hold time violation, can a user fix it manually.

Thanks
 

optor

Member level 3
Joined
Nov 25, 2003
Messages
62
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
352
Re: FPGA Timing

Rewrite your HDL code.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top