Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] How to set output pin state of a module?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kenleigh

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a noob in verilog.
I have a module that has 2 outputs, RESET and PWDN amongst others.

I want to make RESET output high level(3.3V) and PWDN output low level (0V).

In a microcontroller I would have done something like this

RESET = 1;
PWDN = 0;

Can I do similar in Verilog , something like

Code:
module test(RESET, PWDN)

output RESET, PWDN;

RESET = 1;
PWDN = 0;

end module

However I get error on the line where I have used "="

Possibly you mean something like this:

Code:
module test (
    output RESET,
    output PWDN
    );

assign RESET = 1'b1;
assign PWDN  = 1'b0;

endmodule // test

If you're just starting out, then asic-world has some pretty good examples and tutorials.

hope that helps!

Possibly you mean something like this:

Code:
module test (
    output RESET,
    output PWDN
    );

assign RESET = 1'b1;
assign PWDN  = 1'b0;

endmodule // test

If you're just starting out, then asic-world has some pretty good examples and tutorials.

hope that helps!

Yes! this works, however I'm unable to understand what was the problem with "=" and "<=".
Why didn't they work out?

Many thanks for the tutorials!

Last edited:

What I gave you was a quick quick example. It basically does a continuous assignment to the RESET and PWDN output. As in static outputs. Usually your module will have a clock input, that is for a synchronous design.