Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to run my .cshrc shell automatically?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
csh automatically source cshrc

I install EDA tool into Solaris 9, and create a .cshrc file, I put it in my home directory, however, it wouldn't run automatically each time when I login? who knows why? And how to setup?

THANKS
 

edaguy69

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
119
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
silicon land
Activity points
949
My recommend is: if you intend to use your Sun as an EDA workstation, don't install the latest OS. You will have a lot of trouble because your EDA was compiled and test under very old OS. Solaris 7, or Solaris 8 is good enough.
 

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
Oh, my OS is Solaris 9, looks bad for EDAs
 

pardal

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
Messages
81
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
587
That has nothing to do with a .cshrc not beeing sourced at login as it should.
Do you have a .login file? Is it runned at login?
If yes you can allways force running the .cshrc by adding to it a line with
source .cshrc
 

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
source .cshrc is added, but still not working

well, if I setup default shell is C, my EDA runs well. However, if setup default shell is Bourne and add "source .cshrc" line in .login, my EDA won't run and got error: "EDA: Can not excute"
 

bravobravo

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
122
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
USA
Activity points
973
same problem with me ..
so I change shell to C .. but I get a tcsh from web and compile it
I think tcsh is much better .. just my personal opi~~
and it work fine for me ..
for your ref ..
 

moorhuhn

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
54
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
541
.cshrc is used by csh or tcsh.
I would say you should set your default shell to be /usr/bin/tcsh and it will work .....
PS:
Edit it either in /etc/passwd
or if you are mouse oriented
use an admintool. In both of cases you have to be a root (':)')

P.P.S. This is a serious decision:"which shell to use ?"
In any case look: man csh
man sh
It is not very long and give you a first help

P.P.P.S. /usr/bin/tcsh as well zsh is included in Solaris8, so it will be probaly available also
in Solaris9
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top