Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

how to reduce high fanout

Status
Not open for further replies.

eda_wiz

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
654
Helped
57
Reputation
114
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
6,195
attribute syn_maxfan

hi all,
my linter says high fanout (16) on some nets. Can anyone tell me how to reduce this ..

tnx
 

linuxluo

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
331
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,514
Hi,
You can use your sythesis tool to set constraints just like set_max_fanout 8, that means in your design the fanout is lower than 8.
 

spacekim

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 27, 2001
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
54
if you modify hdl source, refer to the document!
 

cnz

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 10, 2001
Messages
93
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
617
there is a paper that discusses the high fanout nets!
Hope to help you!
 

synq

Member level 2
Joined
May 21, 2001
Messages
51
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
446
fanout

you can limit the fanout from any net or output port or any register output by fairly using attributes in your vhdl or verilog file. Take for example in synplicity:

It would be

attribute syn_maxfan of [name of net or port]: signal is [fanout number say 10];

word of caution here:::

lesser fanout attribute on crictical timing nets set for more global clock resources consumption.
 

G

Guest

Guest
Actually the high fanout problem can be solved by physical implementation. Espically for the clock and reset signals!
 

ttspice

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
64
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Republic of Taiwan
Activity points
555
Lint tool just wants to remind you some signal having larger fanout,
it doesn't mean a real problem, you should review your design to see if it will cause a problem physically.

btw, you can change Lint rule to avoid such warning.
 

Ohh2

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
122
You can simply use logic or register duplication in your design.
 

vsop

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 24, 2001
Messages
52
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
east
Activity points
513
In my past experience, this kind of warning from so called HDL assistant tool means nothing, so I never take them into considerations. And I also suggest not try to fix this kind of warning in the synthesis step, it will result in a larger design. Modern layout tools are able to deal with them very well.
 

Al Farouk

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 13, 2003
Messages
191
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Egypt
Activity points
1,854
As a compromise between all suggestions to solve the problem, you can try the solutions of using attributes or buffer insertion then simulat your design and check the violation that my appear and enhance your design according to the results you get.
regards
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top