Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to protect the ADM485 chip used in outdoor applications?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lak

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jun 10, 2001
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
133
Can anyone tell me how to protect the ADM485 chip when used in outdoor applications.
What sort of things to hang onto the data lines?
Any practical cct that you've used and robust enough for outdoor use that you can share is appreciated. Pls post cct if possible.

thanks. ..lak
 

KENCO

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 9, 2002
Messages
25
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
127
Hi,

This is what I use for my 485 apps.

Its an Isolated RS485 link

OOPS, guess the bmp never took.
 

blue_snake

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
30
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
125
check this:

h**p://chaokhun.kmitl.ac.th/~kswichit/PC485/PC_Rs485.html

blue snake
 

Blubb

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
95
ESD protection

normally you protect the differentail levels on the two wries
with a bidirectional surppressor to GND on each line.
and you can take an current kompensation inductur.
 

Lak

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jun 10, 2001
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
133
rs485 cct

I've used a isolated link dc-dc converter for the +5v.
I've also used opto 6n137. protection using P6KE6.8 TVS diodes.

So the question is... for this isolated link, should I earth all terminals with a 3rd wire, or earth each with 100R resistor with a common 3rd wire or
should I join all terminals ground together with a 3rd wire.(no connection to earth) ? Its a mouthful ...I know.

Using only 2 wires, my 485 are damaged quite frequently esp. outdoor sites ,though there's no sign of lightning damage...system offline...sustained customer abuse... help..

thanks.
 

mtawab74

Member level 3
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
67
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
489
rs 485

i think you are using step down transformer + linear regulator to get the 5 voltage supply

do the following
1- use bipolar supressior between the differintial terminal
2- use 3rd wire ( earth) and connect 2.2 nf/250 v between each erminal
of the transformer secondary and the earth.
3- connect 100 ohm between your circuit ground and the 3rd wire

plz email me if it gives good results
 

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,651
You can use datasheet RS485 isolated chips like ISO485 and check its protection circuitry ,ISO485 is from BURRBROWN (at now TI)

but do not use ISO485 at all because it has bug on receiving mode.

you can check isolated rs485 chips from maxim and others.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top