Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to model a SAW Filter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rayengine

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
287
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Hong Kong
Activity points
1,737
Hi,

For system simulation, it is easy to place a filter in the simulation. However, in circuit level or component level, how can we put a SAW filter in simulation? Any suggest good model for the simulation (the equv. L, C, R) circuit?

Thanks in advance!
Rayengine


Sorry: Double Post because of Network error, please delete one!
 

yuhohang

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
25
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
146
How about save the s-parameter of the SAW Filter and input to the simulator? All simulator could be input the s-parameter(Touch stone format) data for simulation
 

Rayengine

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
287
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Hong Kong
Activity points
1,737
yuhohang said:
How about save the s-parameter of the SAW Filter and input to the simulator? All simulator could be input the s-parameter(Touch stone format) data for simulation
Thanks for your answer. Yes, S-parameter is good tool to perform simulator. But it is not a good tools to understand the behaviour model of the SAW filter. I want to go deeply into the SAW filter.
 

dd22

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
249
Saw filter modeling.

It puzzled me all the time.
For example, most of IF saw impedance are not 50 ohm. How would you like to measure the s-parameters? If you use balan, then how to convert?
If not, it is very difficult indeed, just think about a typical impedance of IF SAW 500-1000 and the standard 50 ohm for the network analyzer.
Can any one help this?
Thanks.
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
conversions of S parameter base impedances

You can convert the 50 ohm S parameter measurements to any other basis impedance with some standard algebraic methods.

Since the SAW filters usually operate at lower frequencies, you can design discrete transistor amplifiers before and after them, optimized for the source and load they work between. The high impedance levels at these low frequencies will not cause much problems over the relative narrow filter bandwidth frequency range even if the amplifier gains drop way off out of band.
 

u_f_o

Member level 2
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
51
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
World
Activity points
532
hi!
as i can remember there are 2 types of saw filters:
resonator filters and transversal filters.
all of you tell about are the resonator filters (imho).
it is right for these filters: the more bandwidth the less insertion loss.
these filters are possible to present in the manner of L-C-R-schemes.
another type is transversal filters.
these filters aren't possible to present in the manner of L-C-R-schemes.
it is right for these filters: the more bandwidth the more insertion loss.
best regards.
u_f_o
 

chiara

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
49
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
339
Re: Saw filter modeling.

normally SAW provider supply the s-parameter of SAW filter with
matching ckt (LC) parameter...

for balance scheme they measure the s-parameter with
3-port or 4 -port VNA and match the filter with LC.
However, If you request the test sample....
they send test sample soldered on PCB with 1:1 or 4:1 balun
and balun loss data sheet...

As some guy said already... you can convert some s-parameter
with different reference impedance with easy math to which you want.

have a nice day


dd22 said:
It puzzled me all the time.
For example, most of IF saw impedance are not 50 ohm. How would you like to measure the s-parameters? If you use balan, then how to convert?
If not, it is very difficult indeed, just think about a typical impedance of IF SAW 500-1000 and the standard 50 ohm for the network analyzer.
Can any one help this?
Thanks.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top