Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to find number of registers in a design?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kirangu

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,413
This is the an interview question. Please help me finding answer for it.
 

qual_ti

Member level 1
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
37
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,525
in DC, we can get the no of registers in the design.

we can use command like report_all_reg in DC shell.

It will give the no of registers in the design.

correct me if I am wrong..
 

kirangu

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,413
Even i dont know the exact answer for it.... lets say we have a netlist... before doing pd.. Can we find number of flops, instances in the design?
 

dcreddy1980

Full Member level 5
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
243
Helped
46
Reputation
92
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Munich, Germany
Activity points
1,532
If You are given a netlist and you have to find number of FLOPS from i.

Thing is if you know what kind of technology it is and what FF primitives exist in that technology like : FD,FDCE,FD and so on

If you get the list of FLOP primitive names, we can create a perl script to get the count.
 

ADITYAVARDHAN

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
17
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,361
If you compile the design in the compilation report we get the number of registers and the gates used in FPGA's.If I am wrong please correct me.
 

GI

Member level 2
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
48
Helped
31
Reputation
62
Reaction score
31
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Istanbul/Turkiye
Activity points
1,721
Hi Kirangu,

There may be a couple of ways to report number of flops in a design;

1 - Simplest may be to do "grep" on the netlist with specific filtering or regular expression (e.g. reference cell name or pattern)
2 - Writing you tcl/perl script to count it (using regular experssion or giving whole set of register on that technology and checking each line of the verilog)
3 - Using the synthesis, physical design or STA tool's native commands (as stated above "report_all_reg", etc...)

I hope it helps,
Gokhan
---
 

anantha_09

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
75
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,771
synopsys DC can report num of regs in design
 

chiplogic

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
29
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,283
Location
chennai
Activity points
1,429
how about [all_registers] and count the number using some script?
 

kumar_eee

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
814
Helped
139
Reputation
276
Reaction score
109
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Bangalore,India
Activity points
4,676
If you're taking SOC-Encounter as a tool, You can use the "dbIsCellSequential" command to find out the sequential elements.
 

sruthikesh

Newbie level 6
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
12
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Hyderabad
Activity points
1,358
Hiii, In DC there is a command "report_clock_gating" with this u can find total no. of registers , clock gated registers nd un gated registers.....
 

sam536

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
245
Helped
50
Reputation
102
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Tokyo
Activity points
3,028
sizeof_coll [all_reg ] ; Will give register count
sizeof_coll [all_reg -edge] ; Will give Flop count
sizeof_coll [all_reg -level] ; Will give Latch count

these commands will work in DC /PT

Regards,
Sam
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top