Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to enable/configure RMON for Remote Monitoring Application of embedded Ethernet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rahul_sanghavi

Member level 2
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
404
Hi,

I develop Embedded Ethernet on PIC Controller.

Now i face problem that my SNMP Agent cannot configure with HP Openview.

I read RFC , they say that for Remote Monitoring enable RMON.

But I don't know "How to enable or configure RMON for Remote Monitoring Application of embedded Ethernet".

Thanks

Regards
Rahul Sanghavi



Regards
Rahul Sanghavi
 

rahul_sanghavi

Member level 2
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
404
Re: RMON configure

l wonder nobody doesn't know this?!!!!!

Regards
Rahul Sanghavi :!:
 

cdcll

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
163
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,199
RMON configure

I am also doing SNMP Agent, but I have never used HP openview, I think maybe you can post it to the "digital communication" forum, maybe the telecom engineer will give you suggestion.

BTW: do you have any plan to migrate your snmp agent to version 2?
 

cdcll

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
163
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,199
RMON configure

Hi,

I was told that the agent must implement the system OID, then the 3rd party software can identify it. please check if the system OID is been implemented.

good luck!

regards,

cdcll
 

rahul_sanghavi

Member level 2
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
404
Re: RMON configure

Thanks cdcll for reply ,

I already implemented System OID, Interface OID but still my device not detected in Concard or HP Open view Server.

Once , again thanks for ur reply,

Regards
Rahul Sanghavi :)
 

cdcll

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
163
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,199
RMON configure

do you use OpenView NNM?

maybe you can try sniffer or ethereel to capture the SNMP packect, and then you can analyze the problem.

regards,
 

rahul_sanghavi

Member level 2
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
404
Re: RMON configure

Yes I use Concord NMS & I capture what is communication between NMS & Agent.

Initailly NMS queary for System MIB , Interface MIB upto this all queary response properly by agent but after that NMS queary for RMON & Agent fail to give the response & my agent cannot detect in Concord.

Regards
Rahul Sanghavi
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top