Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

how to design the probepad

Status
Not open for further replies.

knightgreen

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,331
hi
i design a schottky diode in standard process,and want test in probe test,but i don't
know how to design the probepad.i need you help!!!
thanks:D
 

mdcui

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
109
Helped
28
Reputation
56
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
california, USA
Activity points
2,078
use a 4x4um or 5x5um top metal layer to form a sqare, then carve a smaller box 2x2u out of it to make it like a ring shape, usually probe tips are 0.2u, this kind of metal structure can be easily probed and tested. (make sure you don't have passivation layer over the top metal during processing)
 

knightgreen

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,331
thanks,but why should i carve a smaller box to make it like a ring shape?
 

k_90

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
137
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Scotland,GB
Activity points
2,118
I would draw it 9x9 or bigger if you can. The hole in the middle is used to help stop the probe from sliding over the silicon once its been located. Think of it as a pot hole in the road...once your in its hard to get out ;)

K
 

forkschgrad

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
271
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Philippines
Activity points
2,363
on what process it is applicable? i usually use 10umX10um using top metal sometimes up to the lowest level in 0.6um process.
 

anisnn

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,378
If you are using standard CMOS process, you can also use all metal layers and connect them with vias. This makes the probe pads thicker and less susceptible to have all its metal scraped off when probing.

You can also make the pad bigger so that it will be easier for you to probe it when using the microscope. My pads are usually 50u x 70u.

Also, don't forget to define the PAD layer on top of the probe pad, so that there will be no passivation layer covering it.
 

hongmy

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
11
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,356
I usually use 5umx5um with top metal,but we don't cut a hole mdcui said and It works good.
Anyway, I think mdcui is right,maybe we may have a try.
 

leo_o2

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1,324
Helped
277
Reputation
556
Reaction score
241
Trophy points
1,343
Location
China
Activity points
5,761
To measure schottky diode by probing, it will lead to error according to big contact resistance. It is better to measure by bonding.
 

mdcui

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
109
Helped
28
Reputation
56
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
california, USA
Activity points
2,078
on aluminum process, we use 5x5 with a 2x2 hole inside pattern on top metal, since the top metal can be exposed, and the probe tip diameter we use is 0.2u, this metal ring makes it very easy to probe.
however in copper process, there will must a passivation layer covering all metal on top, to prevent contamination, in that case, simply use a 5x5 copper metal squre (without a hole in it) is good enough, because you will have to carve a window on that passivation layer, than landing a probe is also fine.
 

shrbht

Full Member level 1
Joined
Mar 15, 2005
Messages
95
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,872
mdcui said:
on aluminum process, we use 5x5 with a 2x2 hole inside pattern on top metal, since the top metal can be exposed, and the probe tip diameter we use is 0.2u, this metal ring makes it very easy to probe.
however in copper process, there will must a passivation layer covering all metal on top, to prevent contamination, in that case, simply use a 5x5 copper metal squre (without a hole in it) is good enough, because you will have to carve a window on that passivation layer, than landing a probe is also fine.
the top metal has natural oxide surface, the probe must push into the metal. mdcui, how to probe the metal ring? thank u
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top