Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to change ethernet address !

Status
Not open for further replies.

promethe

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Messages
26
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
146
change ethernet address

It can be useful , to solv to license problems to change
your ethernet card address .

It can be done like this :

# ifconfig eth0 down
# ifconfig eth0 hw ether 11:22:33:44:55:66 up
# ifconfig eth0 | grep HWaddr
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 11:22:33:44:55:66

That 's ok !!
 

armer

Member level 5
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
84
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
576
ifconfig eth0 hw ether

Do you try it? i change the mac address under windows 98 and windows 2000, the mac address is changed, but eda tools fail to get a license.
Does it success under solaris or other unix platform?
 

promethe

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Messages
26
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
146
how to change ethernet address

I did not test it with a license manager ,
but i think it should work !

I'll make the test .
 

promethe

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Messages
26
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
146
changing ethernet address

I've tried to generate a license with EFALicGen with
node lock 000011223344 then i changed my Mac address
with ifconfig
# ifconfig eth0 down
# ifconfig eth0 hw ether 00:00:11:22:33:44 up
And then i lauched the software ...
It works !!
 

archun

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
43
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
269
change ethernet address linux

It's only temp. to change the ether. address. After you reboot the system, the ether address become the org.
 

hitajian

Junior Member level 3
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
30
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
144
ether change

OK, It's easy .

At the top of the file ( /etc/rc.c/init.d/network ),

You can add a new line like this :
ifconfig eth0 hw ether xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

Good Luck !
 

archun

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
43
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
269
change ethernet adress

I knew that. thks anyway.
 

thecat

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 4, 2002
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
241
changing ethernet address linux

Hi,

I don't have a network card, so I've heard that I can emulate one with:

modprobe dummy
ifconfig dummy0

I did that, and the device shows in the list, and I even changed the it's ethernet address from 000000000000 to one different than 0. The problem is that, even after doing this, the lmhostid program says: "The Ethernet address of this machine is:"" ".

Any idea? Is this procedure correct? Is here another one of getting an ethernet address when I don't have a Network card?

Thanks.
 

maskrom

Member level 1
Joined
Apr 23, 2002
Messages
32
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
206
ifconfig eth0 hw ether

Hello Armer:
"ifconfig" work on linux platfom. And Solaris is not working. Someone may tell me can it work on freebsd?
 

naclkcl

Newbie level 5
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
4
set ethernet adress

modify /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
delete line of HWADDR
add MACADDR line,below:
MACADDR=00:11:22:33:44:55


I test in RHEL4. is OK
 

Fom

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
633
Helped
82
Reputation
164
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Taiwan
Activity points
4,451
linux change eth0 address

in RHEL4 I don't have such a file ifcfg-eth0
The closest name is "ifcfg-lo" no other 'ifcfg...' files
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top