Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to calculate DIE size?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
any expert show me how to calculate DIE size from gate count and RAM size?

Tks.
 

wako

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 23, 2002
Messages
11
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
6
edited
 

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
Thanks, but what is exact meaning for "different techno

simply indicate 0.18um, 0.13um or else?
 

rh1101

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
56
I don't think there is a formula to calculate die size just based on gate count and RAM size. If you look at most chip, you will see that about 25%~40% of die size is used for just routing purposes. That means die size depends largely on unknown factors such as cell library used, routing tools, and maybe experiences of routing engineers. You can only do some comparison with known chip design with different gate count, RAM size to get rough idea about the die size of a new design.
 

Nobody

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
165
Helped
9
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Formosa
Activity points
1,593
U can look up the synopsys's .lib and take
a look at the 2 input nand's area value.
For TSMC .35 Silicide , it's 1. That means it represent as one gate count.
For TSMC .35 Policide , it's 70. That means it represent as 70 um * um .
As rh1101 said , the routing resource affect a lot on the final area. Depends on how many metals u utilize, how's the congestion based on ur floor-plan and the power stripe , the final routing utilization and so on. So u should consult ur layout engineer to have the final chip area.
BTW , u may call one of the design service's company, such as Faraday , Goya, or GlobalUnit chip. Just tell the sales ur gate count and the sram spec. , they will estimate the die size and the price based on their experienced formula.
 

shell3

Member level 1
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
Messages
35
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
303
Two more factors may affect the size of the die:

1) The design may be pad limited, that is, the size of the
die is controlled by the number of pins. Because all the
I/O cells are located on the boundary of the die, a high
number of pins may cause the die to be bigger than
the logic will otherwise requires.

2) There is extra logic required for test: SCAN and BIST. This
may increase the total gate count by 5 to 15%.
 

okguy

Full Member level 6
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
360
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
2,644
This site need passwd : can you pm to me the doc.

OkGuy ?
 

mutoucanada

Newbie level 6
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
111
I don't think you can figure out the die size from gate counts. There are several ways which will affect your die size:
1. Row utilization.
2. IO to core distance(X and Y).
3. Core to Block distance.
4. More....
BTW, it depends on pad limited or core limited

Mutou
 

kalli

Newbie level 5
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
8
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,333
Generally
core size = netlist area/estimated cell density
die size = core size + pad height + power ring width.
 

Zeng Jie-jun

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,429
I think estimation means it is not quite correct.
and this data is only for other team's reference.
RAM die size can be getten from RAM specification and congestion factor is not consided.
Gate count is caculated with 2-nand area and synthesis area addition congestion (from other projects experience). it depends on the technology.
 

shiv_emf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 31, 2005
Messages
605
Helped
22
Reputation
44
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,106
hey do v need to take BLOCK halo into account for die size??
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top