Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to add a VSWR=2 circle in the smith chart in ADS ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

alard

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
76
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
577
Smith chart in ADS

Anyone who know how to add a VSWR=2 circle in the smith chart in ADS data display file?
 

khouly

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
2,368
Helped
461
Reputation
916
Reaction score
101
Trophy points
1,343
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
13,244
Re: Smith chart in ADS

doubel click on the smith chart , then select plot options , the uncheck auto scale , and make the max as u like

wish this help

khouly
 

alard

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
76
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
577
Re: Smith chart in ADS

but now there is nothing in S.C. I just wonder that how to draw it in S.C. Shall I use some expression?
 

boy

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
481
Helped
96
Reputation
192
Reaction score
55
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Thailand
Activity points
3,963
Smith chart in @DS

add this expression

VSWR=2
absL=(VSWR-1)/(VSWR+1)
vswrCir=circle(0,absL,500)

then plot vswrCir in the smith chart
 

    alard

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

alard

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
76
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
577
Re: Smith chart in ADS

Thanks boy! Finally I drew the circle, but the it is a rather thick circle, can I make it more accurate?
 

boy

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
481
Helped
96
Reputation
192
Reaction score
55
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Thailand
Activity points
3,963
Smith chart in @DS

Change "Trace type to Scatter" and change "symble type to Dot". That will do. The way ADS plots complex numbers in the smitch chart is to use small ciciles not lines
 

alard

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
76
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
577
Re: Smith chart in ADS

Thank you very much. I really appreciate your help.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top