Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How important is gate current in analog design?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bo_diggz

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a graduate student embarking on research in the area of analog IC design. My potential topic involves deriving circuit solutions to the problems caused by gate current (direct tunneling) to analog circuits in deep submircon CMOS technologies.

I have a few questions to the designers out there. How often is analog design done in deep submicron CMOS technologies (65 nm, 90 nm) where gate current is significant? If it is done, do you avoid thin-oxide devices because of gate current? If so, do you use thick-oxide devices instead? Would analog circuit techniques to deal with problems caused by gate current be of any use to you?

Please let me know what you think. Thanks for your help.

Gate leakage is just one problem of many in analog design (like parasitic capacitance, STI, WPE...) and there are already a lot of different techniques to cope with that. If I were you, I wouldn't focus on circuit techniques to deal with gate leakage (just add them as an appendix to a broader subject).

Thanks for your reply. When you refer to there being a lot of techniques to cope with gate current, can you pleave provide me with some examples? I'm interested to know what is currently being done to minimize its negative effects on analog design.

This is just one research project possiblity that I'm considering. I just wasn't sure how current analog designers are dealing with direct tunneling. Thanks for your help.