Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How does series resonant circuit work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mujee

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi guys
i am a basic level student of electronics. currently we are studying electric circuits.
yesterday we were taught series resonant circuit in which an ac voltage source, a capacitor and an inductor are connected in series. we were told when the capacitive and inductive reactances become equal , the circuit comes into resonance state

i want to know how does this circuit actually work. my point is when ac voltage source is actuated, the capacitor will start charging but inductor will resist it, so how come current gonna move through this series circuit

please answer in detail as it takes me time to grasp the concept if things are said concisely

Re: resonant circuit

Simple answer is that the AC impedances of the two elements cancel each other out at a specific frequency so a large current will flow at that frequency. Instead of going into a detailed analysis here I have added a couple of links one has a nice little flash application where you can play about with circuit values of the L and C elements and see how it effects the resonance frequency.

h**p://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/electric/serres.html#c2

h**p://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_2/chpt_6/index.html

resonant circuit

Hi

It seems alternating current is driving you crazy. You may need a lot of reading. I found this great tutorial which can be used as an start point, **broken link removed**

you may find many other in the web

Sal

no its not ac thats driving me nuts