Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How do I make a 230V SMPS to replace my linear transformers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Plecto

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi. I've been doing electronics for a couple of years now and for every project that has needed a 230V supply I've used a linear transformer. I'm very comfortable with this simple design, but linear transformers are as you know very big and very expensive, is it a good idea to shift my focus to SM supplies instead? Are they difficult to make and what do I need to know?

Looks very interesting. Why would I design a high frequency transformer, don't I just buy one? Also, how do I go about making a dual sided SMPS? As I only know the basic operation of these supplies and I'm a little worried when dealing with 230V (safety first), the best thing would be to simply copy a schematic and a part list, perhaps even the board layout?

At home you wont be successful in developing or making 230V switch mode power supplies (SMPS). You can only buy them the same way you buy a mains transformer.
To get into SMPS start developing and making boost and buck converters. They are useful interesting and no danger involved.

Why won't I be successful in making a 230V SMPS?

When you develop circuits for the first time many things don't work well. Working with high voltages doesn't allow you to probe your circuit and find the faults.
Other than that, you will get better answer to your question when you try to make SMPS at home.