Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How do i learn electronics : a lost newbie version !

Status
Not open for further replies.

docesam

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
as a total newbie i am lost !!

current situation :
i know what things like resistor,capacitor,voltage,current ..etc just basic stuff. i started by reading the book : Electronics For Dummies 2009 edition (Amazon.com: Electronics For Dummies (9780470286975): Cathleen Shamieh, Gordon McComb: Books).
i have got some basic stuff : breadboard ,solder ,a whole bunch of resistors ,capacitors ,pots ... ets , magnifying lens ,multimeter, screwdrivers and a power supply ... you got the idea.

what i am aiming to become:
i wish i become an electronic geek. being able to design and make some useful stuff . for example i wish i can force my air conditioner to turn on one hour before i arrive home from work (yup , in summer we got 50+ degree Celsius outside ),i wish i could make a remote control to turn on /off the main lights of my room. i wish i could make some robots ... you got the idea.

the question :
i am sure the book i refereed to above is a very good starting point. the question now is what next ?
i got the book : The Art of Electronics (Amazon.com: The Art of Electronics (9780521370950): Paul Horowitz, Winfield Hill: Books) and many people swear by it but i can't damn understand anything from that book(yet).

so please help !! i am basically lost!! what resources i should consider ? paying for books is not an issue.

thank you in advance

In your place I would take the following step: microcontrollers.