Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

how can i install windows with linux (mandrake, red hat)????

Status
Not open for further replies.

carane

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
39
i can´t install windows with linux mandrake, i need to have winlinux, but it´s get a error message when i define the resolution of the monitor or video card. Please tell me which are the principals steps to install winlinux. thanks

PD: IS COMPATIBLE THE SIS 630 VIDEO CARD WITH LINUX MANDRAKE?
 

NeologiK

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
54
Make a partition and install linux, don't use winlinux, it is not as updated as the regular linux distributions, go for mandrake, www.linux-mandrake.com, it's very easy ro install (if you have a partition ready!!)
 

tlihu

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
336
Helped
18
Reputation
40
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,258
Re: how can i install windows with linux (mandrake, red hat)

carane said:
i can´t install windows with linux mandrake, i need to have winlinux, but it´s get a error message when i define the resolution of the monitor or video card. Please tell me which are the principals steps to install winlinux. thanks

PD: IS COMPATIBLE THE SIS 630 VIDEO CARD WITH LINUX MANDRAKE?
Do you mean simultaneously running Windows (guest OS) on Linux (host OS) or vice versa? Then go for VMware workstation. I tried v3.0 and worked fine.
 

NetAnts

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
11
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
6
First install Windows, then Linux.

as title.
 

NeologiK

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
54
no, it seems he's using a version which installs in the FAT32 filesystem.
btw, I was never able to save my configuration when I used vmware, on the subject, when you first launch vmware from linux, and you boot windows, I can see that windows tries to detect new devices etc.., is it a normal process or is there something wrong (I mean, should I accept everything that's going on or what?) thanks in advance!!
 

tlihu

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
336
Helped
18
Reputation
40
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,258
I guess it is normal 'cause Windows tries to detect devices for PnP. It happens when i power on the virtual machine as well.
 

NeologiK

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
54
okay, but does it have to go through the detection process each time you run windows as a guest host (hence saving the configuration)??
 

ilamseeker

Member level 1
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
41
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,720
Re: how can i install windows with linux (mandrake, red hat)

yes the grub bootloader is very good for dual boot...i have installed both windows and fedora ...thanx to grub...
 

louisnells

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
209
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,027
Re: how can i install windows with linux (mandrake, red hat)

winlinux is not a better idea. Because it installs on usual FAT32 filesystem.
FAT32 has got lot of limitations like it can't store anyfile greater than 2GB also there is a good chance of file corruption. Better idea is to install LINUX in a dedicated EXT3 filesystem and use GRUB or LILO for boot to either windows or LINUX.
 

hr_rezaee

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
751
Helped
109
Reputation
218
Reaction score
24
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Iran-Mashhad
Activity points
4,036
Hi
first install windows then install linux on other partion.
regards
 

louisnells

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
209
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,027
Re: how can i install windows with linux (mandrake, red hat)

Acually the order of installation is not important. You can install it any order you like.

All you need to do is that you have to write the GRUB or LILO boot loader as final step of installation. If you install Windows as second step, most of the distributions provide options to boot in to the LINUX partition in rescue mode using the installation CD. Once you gets in using the installation CD try to run the boot loader on to the boot partition or master boot record.

hr_rezaee said:
Hi
first install windows then install linux on other partion.
regards
 

fdiblen

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
41
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,504
Re: how can i install windows with linux (mandrake, red hat)

try qemu
 

mmike

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2006
Messages
122
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
0
If you want run both at a time use VMWare
 

Anno

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Messages
106
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
South Africa
Activity points
1,899
there even exist a prog win4lin for such purposes
 

bangash

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 1, 2006
Messages
83
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
London
Activity points
1,770
hi carane,
i have installed it last week with already installed windows xp.
first boot pc with cd-rom and insert mandraka
it will ask u few simple qs.
install it on seperate drive(not with xp) having ext3 file system.
then enjoy it
 

spweda

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
184
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,261
Re: how can i install windows with linux (mandrake, red hat)

Try to use crossover tool to install WIndows Application such MS Office.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top