Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with 4051B multiplexer circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

RedShiftJames

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello EDA, I am an A2 Electronics student and I need help with my multiplexer circuit.

Attatched is a screenshot of my circuit in Circuit Wizard. Basically it's a bike alarm with a combination to turn it off. The combination to turn output 6 on turns the alarm off, as output 6 is grounded. This all works in the simulation but when I came to build it IRL, I had a few problems.

https://obrazki.elektroda.pl/5211735100_1395668852.png

When I turn the input switches on for inputs A, B, and C, the outputs don't work as intended. There is no "defuse" combination; the led I used to test the output just glows brighter the more switches are turned on.
Also, the chip gets hotter and hotter as soon as I connect the 9V battery to the 9V and 0V rails. This heat eventually creates resistance so the testing LED just gets dimmer over time, to the point where you can't see the glow at all.

Does anyone know where I've gone wrong here? Does it have something to do with the fact that I connected 7 multiplexer outputs together?

The inputs S1,2,4 are left floating when the switches are turned off. CMOS inputs must not be left in that condition.
Connect a resistor from each of those inputs to 0V (GND). The value is not critical, rather high is ok for reduced consumption, but too much can fail to force a low level; 100 kohms would be ok.
Don't forget to connect supply for the 4051 (pin 8 at 0V and pin 16 at 9V).
Regars

Z

V

Helpful Answer Positive Rating