Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me budget. In house design or outsource?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrisz

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
in house designers versus outsourcing

I'm sorry for asking the group, (I'm sure you are all very busy) but I'm a lone engineer in Thailand on this project without anyone else to talk to.

I've been assigned a project requiring 2 distinct RF components and PCB antennas. I need an RFID chip at 13.56 MHz and an 802.15.4 (or equivalent) WPAN chip at 2.4 GHz.

Let me start by saying I haven't actually done any RF design since I left university 15 years ago, but I am a quick study. I am designing an industrial meter application that requires both of these interfaces. The sales figures call for up to a million of these units, so saving a penny makes a difference. Still, the engineering budget would make Ebenezer Scrooge proud, so I need to figure out how to do this in the most cost effective manner using the cheapest possible components, and, of course, it all needs to be finished yesterday.

(Aside: Did anyone else expect this was what real engineering was all about when you selected this as a career path?)

The basic dilemma I am faced with is the antenna design and resulting analog interface that goes with it. Both of the chips I am looking at (the TI 7960 for RFID and the Nordic Semiconductor nRF24L01 for the WPAN) come with reference designs that appear to be "good enough" for what I need to do.

I have a couple of questions though: