Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help explain 4 pole LM13700 filter (from Shruthi synth)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pancra85

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have been on the look for a +-9v LP filter made from LM13700, tried several but they all didn't sound very good for some reason or another.
Knowing that the Shurthi synth sounds awesome, I looked for one of the filters schematics and discovered that it works with +-5v, so it's a perfect match for Arduino.
I am a beginner in electronics so I am "dissecting" the schematic in order to understand it better and to remove or change the functions that I don't need.

I have a few questions if anyone could help me:
1) Can feedback be replaced with a simpler op-amp (or method) so if I want to do a 2 pole only filter I don't need to use another LM13700? I really don't need CV controlled resonance.
2) The last op-amp (OUTPUT AMP) works like an amplifier of the signal or as a filter? What is the gain of it?
3) If I just remove the "4 POLE PHASE" and get the "RESONANCE FDBK" pin from the "2P OUT", will it work directly as a 2 pole filter?

Attachments

• Shruthi-Analog-SMR4-mkII-v01.jpg
    Shruthi-Analog-SMR4-mkII-v01.jpg
    532.9 KB · Views: 123

I have been on ...

I have a few questions if anyone could help me:
1) Can feedback be replaced with a simpler op-amp (or method) so if I want to do a 2 pole only filter I don't need to use another LM13700? I really don't need CV controlled resonance.
YES
2) The last op-amp (OUTPUT AMP) works like an amplifier of the signal or as a filter? What is the gain of it?