Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help a noob identify possibly bad board components

Status
Not open for further replies.

perceptionist

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all, I have limited knowledge of pc board parts but I am able to carry out a repair if a board component appears visually in need of replacement.

I just bought a used PC gamepad (Saitek P880) which is not being recognized on my PC. I used to own this controller and it was recognized on the same PC with same OS. I have downloaded the current drivers for my OS and the driver install hangs every time not recognizing the gamepad is plugged in as the install wizard requests....

So now with all of that out of the way, I opened the controller finding one of the screws missing indicating someone else had been in there. Below is a scan of the board. In the red box you will see the components I am questioning. I do not know what these are called but I was hoping to attract the attention of any experts here who might be able to tell me what they are called and if these do not look as they should. I found the black portion of these suspect, but then I am limited in my knowledge here.

If needed, I can try to get a more crisp detail scan on the components...

Thanks for any insight...

They look like low power diodes.

Things to try:

Can you verify the board is getting power?

Do you get continuity from each pin on the connector, through the cable, to the corresponding wire emerging inside the housing?

Do you find a disconnected wire to the circuit board?

Do you have a hi power magnifier to search for bad solder joints?