Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[help] 32-bit Static CMOS Adder with Minimum Area Delay2prod

Status
Not open for further replies.

mailkit

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
ad2 area delay

Hello everyone,

I hope everyone are fine. I am an EE student and have been asked to Design a 32-bit Static CMOS Adder with Minimum Area Delay-Squared Product. Well I am looking for some ideas and help on getting me started. Any kind help would do a lot to me.

SOME NOTES GIVEN TO ME.
The goal is to design an unsigned 32-bit adder using static CMOS cells, which has the minimum AD2 figure of merit (Area.Delay2 product.) Your adder architecture can be any of the logarithmic (tree) adder, for example, the Brent-Kung or the Ladner-Fischer adder. You may alternatively implement a variable-length carry-bypass adder or variablelength carry-increment adder. The choice is yours. Bonus credit goes to those designs achieve the minimum AD2 value. Use of dynamic logic circuits or any kind of pipelining is strictly forbidden.

The inputs of the adder are the input carry (C0) and the operands A (A1 to A32) and B (B1 to B32).The outputs of the adder are the sum output bits (S1 to S32) and the outgoing carry (C32). Assume that the sum and final carry outputs have a fanout of 4 load, i.e., each is driving a capacitive load of 4Cinv, where Cinv is the gate capacitance of the minimum-size static inverter where (W/L)p=2*(W/L)n.

Suggested Design Steps
(a) Examine the various adder architectures and pick one that you think will have the best overall performance in terms of the AD2 figure of merit.