Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FTDI232 module problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Martynas Jankūnas

Newbie level 6
Joined
Aug 9, 2015
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
152
Hello,
I purshased FTDI232 module from ebay, but I can't make it work. For a test I programmed an Arduino UNO to serial print a number, increment it and delay for one second. When I hooked up FTDI it didn't show anything (I tried the same with USB2SERIAL light module, all worked fine, so I don't think I made any mistakes).
At first I thought that FTDI drivers bricked the chip (Windows installed 2.12 version at first hookup) so I rolled down drivers to 2.08 version and tried to unbrick chip with this tutorial. It turns out that chip wasn't bricked after all.
Is it something else I could try to make FTDI work?
Some info that I get:
Screenshot - 2015-08-12 , 23_23_00.pngScreenshot from 2015-08-12 19_05_46.png
 

pjmelect

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 13, 2012
Messages
536
Helped
125
Reputation
250
Reaction score
121
Trophy points
1,323
Activity points
4,598
Your test has to many variables. You should use a simpler test.
Connect the RX and TX pins on the module together and use a program such as hyper terminal or real terminal and check that you can send and receive data.
 

fouwad

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
199
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
2,466
Did you buy the original FTDI IC? or a chinese version of it, both have different drivers, wont wont alternatively, did you chose the correct COM port, FTDI makes to appear a new COM port.
 

Martynas Jankūnas

Newbie level 6
Joined
Aug 9, 2015
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
152
I'm pretty sure that this isn't an original chip, one of those cheap module from ebay, thats why my first thouth was that drivers bricked it. Yes I chose correct COM port, checked it on device manager. Also when I tried to read eeprom from Ubuntu with ftdilib example it succeded, but serial-test example gave an error (it shows on the picture with terminal window)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top