Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FPGA Cost Model Help Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

fgt4w

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi Everyone,

I'm quite new to FPGA development, and I was hoping you guys could help me out. I've been given a project to take an old ASIC development/production cost model, and adapt it to estimate FPGA costs. I've done some basic research, but I still have many questions.

1. My first main issue is how to measure "size" of a design. The ASIC model uses number of gates. From what I've read, active logic cells is the sizing metric used in the FPGA community, and there is no perfect formula to convert active logic cells to gates. I don't need a "perfect" solution - i need a pretty good solution that gets me in the ballpark. Are there some rules of thumb I could use to compare ASIC and FPGA design sizes? I also read that the 'size' of an active logic cell can vary from vendor to vendor. Maybe I need to find a conversion factor for each vendor? Anything to steer me in the right direction is appreciated.

2. Generally speaking, what is the development cost difference between an FPGA project and a standard cell ASIC project of the same 'size'? How much of this cost difference is due to a difference in scope (activities that must be performed for ASIC projects, but not for FPGAs. example: mask set generation) and how much is due to a difference in complexity (difficulty of implementing the same thing in a normal ASIC CAD tool vs. a normal FPGA CAD tool.)