Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FFT using window method and FFT filtering

Status
Not open for further replies.

seharryssona

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear all,

I am new to the subject of signal processing and have some (probably elementary) questions that I currently could not find the answer to. The questions are all related to FFT and filtering.

I think I have figured out why the window method is used then doing a FFT, and have also tested this with some simple python code as below:

Code Python - [expand]
# Sampling data
sr = 40
t_end = 4
n_samp = sr*t_end
n = 512

# Create time axis and freq axis
t = linspace(0,t_end,n_samp)
F1 = arange(-n/2.0,n/2.0)/n*sr

# Create output
y2 = 2*sin(4.03452*pi*t)+3*sin(5.2123*pi*t)+1*sin(8.3212*pi*t)

# Window
w = hamming(len(t))

# Do fft of signal
X2 = fft(y2*w,n=n)
X2_s = fftshift(X2)

However, when it comes to FFT filtering, how does the different window methods enter into the equations? If I would like to construct a bandpass filter, say with the the amp = [0,1,1,0] at freqs = [2.0, 2.2, 2.8, 3.0], how do the different windows come into the code? I have tried according to:

Code Python - [expand]
ff = (0,1,1,0)
Hz = (2.0, 2.2, 2.8, 3.0)
k1 = interp(-F1,Hz,ff)+interp(F1,Hz,ff)
w2 = hamming(len(k1))
X2_f = X2_s*k1*w2
X2_f = ifftshift(X2_f)
x2_f = ifft(X2_f,n=int(n))