Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ethernet Networking of Microcontrollers with Daisy Chain Topology

Status
Not open for further replies.

slayer2211

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi guys,

I am new with networking. I know daisy chain configuration is used in some of industrial automation. My objective now is to set up a network that consists of multiple STM32F107 MCU device through ethernet, with daisy chain topology.

daisy_chain.jpg

Since the STM32F107 MCU comes with 1x ethernet feature, therefore, I am trying figure out if it's possible to place a dual port RJ45 connector in order to establish a daisy chain configuration (MCU A connects to MCU B, MCU B to MCU C, MCU C to MCU D,... and so on).

This MCU also requires an external PHY chip to interface the MCU's Ethernet MAC with signal from RJ45. In this case, I am looking for the specific PHY chip that can take two RJ45 and be configured for daisy chain topology.

Thanks!

Since the STM32F107 MCU comes with 1x ethernet feature, therefore, I am trying figure out if it's possible to place a dual port RJ45 connector in order to establish a daisy chain configuration (MCU A connects to MCU B, MCU B to MCU C, MCU C to MCU D,... and so on).