Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Embedded Stripline Impedance, Reference Plane Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

banjo

Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a HW designer. Recently a customer asked us to design an interface board that combines some high speed (250MHZ max) signals that we produce with some very low speed microcontroller circuits that they designed. The want a separate power and ground plane for their stuff and want these planes DC isolated from our nets. While on vacation, my boss instructed the PCB designer to place one of our high speed net layers between our ground and the customer ground plane.

Target impedance is 50 ohms. Trace width is 0.155mm. Spacing to customer ground is 0.100mm. Spacing to our ground is 0.110mm.

My opinion is that the signal layer is approximately equal distance between the planes and will attempt to reference both equally. Since there is no path for the return currents on the customer ground plane, I suspect this will cause signal integrity issues as the signals enter and exit the interface board. High speed signal loads is through a coax cable assembly.

My boss believes in intelligent electrons. He thinks the return current will flow only on our ground layer and avoid the customer's ground layer. He refuses to allow me to decouple the two ground planes at the input and output connectors and told the PCB designer to go ahead.

Questions:

1. What layers do the return currents flow on in an embedded stripline?