Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

drc violation: contacts must be covered in Met1

Status
Not open for further replies.

crystal

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 12, 2003
Messages
117
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,010
drc violation

It's my 1st time at layout and when it's completed, I got this error message by running DRC:

"Error All Contacts must be covered in Metal 1"

Looking at the layout, the errors occurred at all places where there's a contact layer on
1. poly & met3 layers
2. nselect & met5 layers

Anyone can enlighten me?
 

sunny153

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
46
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,603
cannot match terminal counts

Put the rectangles of metl1 covering the contacts, wherever the error is. The error will go.
 

mahendra

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
16
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,473
drc violation definition

Make sure tht contacts are covered with respective layers.
For example Via 1must be covered with both Metal 1(down layer) and Metal 2 (upper layer).


Regards
Mahendra
 

layout_designer

Member level 5
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
87
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,869
metal 1 drc violations

Each contact must be covered with its respective metal or metals for the connection to be valid. And this metal must overlap the contact or via.
Certain times when u are connecting a lower level metal to higher level metal all the intermediate metals and vias must be added. Even if one layer is missing DRC is violated.
Ex: Connect metal 2 to metal 5.
metal2+via2+metal3+via3+matal4+via4+metal5.
note: all metals must overlap their respective vias. minimum overlap is determined by the foundry.

Get back if the error does not clear.
 

vbhupendra

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 11, 2005
Messages
235
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
GOA, INDIA
Activity points
3,219
drc violations

cont should always be covered by Metal1.
as the connection b/w poly and metal1 or diff and metal1 is always through cont.

similarly via1 b/w M1 n M2 and so on ....
 

crystal

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 12, 2003
Messages
117
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,010
missing drc

All comments are appreciated & I've fixed most of the problems by now. I have clean DRC but when it comes to extraction, this error occurs:

"Cannot match terminal counts for nhp ivpcell TSMC018"

What does it mean? The error occurs at all poly layer which formed transistor.
 

p.sivakumar

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
35
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,617
terminal counts

HI
this is siva
The contact should cover through the metal1 by some distance in all sides where u got this error.

ok u have any doubts ask me through this website

Regards
P.sivakumar

Added after 14 minutes:

Hi
this is siva
DRC Rules are given by the fab so we can clear the drc violations but lvs violations are generated differently for designer to designer .According to my knowledge u have mismatching of terminals (nodes) between schmatic and layout.So plese verify ur logwindow and verify ur schmatic nodes and layout nodes.If u got any net mismatch then connect that particular net to required net that is according to schmatic design.
 

crystal

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 12, 2003
Messages
117
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,010
Siva,
Nope, i'm talking about extraction and not LVS here. Extraction fails with the error mentioned and no file generated.
 

vijay.kumarreddy

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
78
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore,India
Activity points
2,017
respective via must be naot only covered with the metals but also there should be some minimum extension in all sides.

For example Via12 must be completely covered with Metal 1 and metal 2 and there should be minimum extension of the M1 and M2 specified by the DRC rules.(generally its around 0.01 um)

vijay
 

papertiger

Member level 2
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
52
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
319
check the definition of the mos extraction.
You may need to specify some special layer to extract special mos.
 

joely2k

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 4, 2005
Messages
36
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,595
Its depends on the design rules that created by your foundries....

There must be metals ENCLOSED your via else the connection "via" wont be valid...
 

Son

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
8
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
France
Activity points
1,342
Metal1 must enclose contact, metal2 for via1, metal3 for via2...
Open your DRM at 'Contact'.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top