Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Double Ridged Waveguide help (pretty well documented :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ardiware

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody. Excuse my english, I speak spanish. I'm doing my thesis project.

INTRODUCTION
It consist of a Low Noise Amplifier, for the band 10.7 to 13.3 GHz. I use a transistor to get a gain of 12 dB with a Noise Figure no more than 1 dB for the band.

In order to accomplish this, the transistor need a 16 ohm impedance at its input. I use a WR-75 waveguide with a caracteristic impedance of 500 ohms, so a impedance transformer is due.

3 sections Chebyshev transformer design (1/3)

**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

3 sections Chebyshev transformer design (2/3)
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

3 sections Chebyshev transformer design (3/3)
According to CST MW Studio, this is the impedance at port 3 of the 3 sections transformer.

**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

I design a 3 sections chebyshev transformer to reduce the 500 ohms to 174 ohms, then I can add a line of 50 ohms (lambda_g/4) with a stub of 6 mm (50 ohms also) to reduce the 174 ohms to 16 ohms.

Transformer plus subsystem design (1/4)
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

Transformer plus subsystem design (2/4)
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

DEVELOPMENT
I "build it" in CST Microwave Studio 5.0.1, being the waveguide of vacuum material, all of its boundaries Electrics, and the ports (1 and 2) boundaries vacuum too.