Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

disadvantages of dielectric resonator antennas?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xavipersonal

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi! I'm working in a DRA presentation but I'm really new in this field.
I have some question that are imposibles to solve by myself..

what are the disadvantages of a DRA conpared to other antennas??
in C-band (4 to 8GHz) what antenna is better (microstrip or DRA) and why?

thanks a lot.

Xavipersonal said:
Hi! I'm working in a DRA presentation but I'm really new in this field.
I have some question that are imposibles to solve by myself..

what are the disadvantages of a DRA conpared to other antennas??
in C-band (4 to 8GHz) what antenna is better (microstrip or DRA) and why?

thanks a lot.

for any cases, if we want to make an antenna then it is better to go for DRA rather than patch,dipole etc type antenna..................it has very low surface wave while compared to other......no conduction loss...........degree of freedom to choose the dimension of the antenna is very very high ie flexible in the case for DRA..........it is better to say specifically rectangular DRA............IEEE paper is there which compared MICROSTRIP PATCH antenna & DRA..........i forgot-please check ur self............these r the ADVANTAGES.....................