Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

DC-DC converter for 500V

Status
Not open for further replies.

BABESH

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
148
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,228
dc-dc 500v

Hello
I am new to power elec.
I have a requirement of converting 5V to 500V with 15mAmp load current.
Please suggest any circuit or ready made module for my application.

thanks
Babesh.
 

vijaya_narayana

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
172
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,158
there r dc to dc convertors with steup options try google to find one which suits u r requirement and a varity of current options
 

BABESH

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
148
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,228
hello mitra thanks for your reply,
i am not a designer in power electronics.
i am not aware of amy parameters related to dc-dc conveters, except my requirement f voltae levels.
Please suggest me some other idea, ckt so that i can assemble and test at my place.

Thanks
-Babesh.
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,309
Reputation
4,620
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,459
One easy way to generate ≈500Vdc is to invert 5V to ≈220-240Vac and then using voltage doubler multiply the voltage from 240V-square to ≈500Vdc ..

Here is a simple voltage inverter:
http://www.aaroncake.net/circuits/inverter.asp
Replace 12V-0-12V transformer with 5V-0-5V one, rated for very small power, say, 5VA (should be enough) ..
If you can't find 5-0-5 tansformer, you can connect two small transformer in series (5V windings) and 240V windings in parallel (or just use one winding) ..

And here are examples of voltage multipliers, including doubler:
http://www.tpub.com/neets/book7/27m.htm

Regards,
IanP
 

BABESH

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
148
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,228
Hi IanP thankyou very much for your reply,
I missed out giving one input, Actually my circuit is Battery Operated one and doesnot have an AC. Input.
Please suggest any other option.

thanks
Babesh.
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,309
Reputation
4,620
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,459
You don't need AC input ..
Inverter does the job and inverts 5Vdc to (depending on transformer winding) 240Vac ..

Regards,
IanP
 

fayes

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,356
hi I am interested with this kind of transformer. It that possible you describe more about the transformer point of view. How many turn of winding that suit for the application ?

Thanks
fayes
 

BABESH

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
148
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,228
Hello

I got one DC-DC converter with 15V as input and can generate variable voltage ranging from (0-1250)V it is from HAMAMATSU C4900.
I will try to use the same.

Thanks
--Babesh.
 

sreekanthr.ele

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
29
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
1,436
Hi,

You can USE GPMT - from EMCO High Voltage,

Cost may be 50 USD.

Is it ok for you means you can use this,

I am using E series and its working properly.

regards
Sreekanth
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top