Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Computer Hardware for CST

Status
Not open for further replies.

AmirMohammad

Member level 1
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
41
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,522
hi
I want to provide a desktop computer optimized to run CST Microwave studio. May anyone help me for the best specification of parts including CPU, Motherboard,... . I want it to support the maximum value of Ram and perform at the max speed. I also dont Know which of the intel or AMD matches to this application.

Sincerely
 

biff44

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
4,831
Helped
1,354
Reputation
2,704
Reaction score
1,031
Trophy points
1,393
Location
New England, USA
Activity points
36,482
In general, I would go with a quad core, hyperthreading cpu, at least 2.8 GHz, probably with 16 GB of ram with the fasted memory speed I could find. Dual high speed hard drives.

Not that familiar with CST, so I do not know the best operating system to use. But my recent (bad) experience with VISTA suggests that you go with XP Pro. If CST can use 64 bit, I would go with a 64 bit machine.
 

AmirMohammad

Member level 1
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
41
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,522
Thx a lot.
I dont know how much differs quad core for example with dual CPU motherboard? and what about difference between AMD and Intel. As a common rule it is said that for graphical users with softwares such as Photoshop,... AMD is more appropriate, but what about CST. Which of them is suitable?
 

enrico

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
55
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,812
I strongly recommend you to choose hardware that meets the following requirements and you might also to consider a GPU, so let's take the following configuration :

- Latest Intel Xeon processor (currently Intel Xeon processors of the 55xx series, a.k.a. Gainestown)

- fast RAM memory modules (DDR3, RDIMM supporting 1333 MHz) where the memory modules must be arranged in multiples of 3 per socket, I recommend you small number of modules with high capacity

- a 100% OpenGL compatible graphic card (Nvidia Quatro FX580). If additional resources are needed like acceleration card, then I would recommend 1 x Nvidia Tesla C1060

- Min 500GB HD

- Windows XP 64 bit will be able to handle more than 2G/3G RAM memory for mutitask.

Good lucky, Enrico.
 

AmirMohammad

Member level 1
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
41
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,522
Dear Enrico
Thanks a lot, is a strong graphic card important for CST applications, I'm offered an intel server motherboard with onboard garphic adapter, does it provide CST requirements? and again what about choose between AMD & Intel? and another problem that on different computers, CPU handling is different, and it handles 25-98% of CPU on different computers from one case to another, What's the reason?
 

Marcos83

Newbie level 1
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,286
I strongly recommend you to choose hardware that meets the following requirements and you might also to consider a GPU, so let's take the following configuration :

- Latest Intel Xeon processor (currently Intel Xeon processors of the 55xx series, a.k.a. Gainestown)

- fast RAM memory modules (DDR3, RDIMM supporting 1333 MHz) where the memory modules must be arranged in multiples of 3 per socket, I recommend you small number of modules with high capacity

- a 100% OpenGL compatible graphic card (Nvidia Quatro FX580). If additional resources are needed like acceleration card, then I would recommend 1 x Nvidia Tesla C1060

- Min 500GB HD

- Windows XP 64 bit will be able to handle more than 2G/3G RAM memory for mutitask.

Good lucky, Enrico.
Dear Enrico,
I have the following pc for CST simulation:
- intel motherboard
- 2 Xeon E5520
- 36 GB ram 1066MHz
- nvidia Quadro FX580 512MB
- HDD 1 TB
and now I want to add a GPU accelerator as nVIDIA Tesla but I'm doing some test: use the Quadro FX580 as an GPU accelerator (it supports CUDA) but I don't understand why CST "doesn't find the graphic card" setting up the GPU acceleration.
 

enrico

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
55
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,812
Dear Enrico,
I have the following pc for CST simulation:
- intel motherboard
- 2 Xeon E5520
- 36 GB ram 1066MHz
- nvidia Quadro FX580 512MB
- HDD 1 TB
and now I want to add a GPU accelerator as nVIDIA Tesla but I'm doing some test: use the Quadro FX580 as an GPU accelerator (it supports CUDA) but I don't understand why CST "doesn't find the graphic card" setting up the GPU acceleration.
Because you need a Token for enable the GPU card to work with CST. Tokens cost around 10K Euro for 1 card.
 

biff44

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
4,831
Helped
1,354
Reputation
2,704
Reaction score
1,031
Trophy points
1,393
Location
New England, USA
Activity points
36,482
yeah it is amazing how these software vendors screw you on the price of every little feature
 

volker@muehlhaus

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
2,508
Helped
982
Reputation
1,966
Reaction score
963
Trophy points
113
Activity points
14,868
Yeah, it is outrageous that programmers want to be payed for their hard work.
 

volker@muehlhaus

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
2,508
Helped
982
Reputation
1,966
Reaction score
963
Trophy points
113
Activity points
14,868
was not talking about yours, I actually own sonnet. Was talking about the $70,000 programs.
A fully configured Sonnet Pro license can be on the order of $70,000 as well. Specialized software sold in small quantities can be expensive, because development and all the related work (documentation etc.) isn't that trivial.

Regarding the extra cost for special features, like GPU license for CST or High Performance solver for Sonnet, or cluster licenses: not everyone needs this, and not everyone is able and inclined to pay for it. Making these features optional, instead of having just one expensive bundle with everything included, isn't a bad thing. It means that people with different budget can find a solution that fits their needs and budget.
 

Bob60

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
190
Helped
39
Reputation
78
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Ozz
Activity points
2,162
Last edited:

ge

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
210
Helped
28
Reputation
56
Reaction score
25
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Pennsylvania, USA
Activity points
2,499
I realize this is an old thread but need to mention that hyperthread and EM simulators do not seem to work well together. You will only get about 75% CPU utilization for CST, AWR, ADS, etc.

GE
 

moreho

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
41
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,561
i am agree with ge.
hyperthreading is not supported fully in cst, cpu usage in transient will never exceed real core capacity, then around 50% of cpu is implemented.
 

Bob60

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
190
Helped
39
Reputation
78
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Ozz
Activity points
2,162
IMHO not correct compare CST and AWR&ADS.
They are totally different.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top