Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Common centroid/Interdigitized layout LVS issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

samisilicon

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to the idea of common centroid layout. Although I have studied various configurations of common centroid layout of differential pairs but every time I try implementing a configuration I get LVS errors. I have some basic questions to ask about common centroid layout design which I hope will help many other beginners as well.

1) Let me have a differential pair (A & B) with 20um/1um size of each MOS, now I want to implement the simplest possible configuration of interdigitization.i.e ABBA. I want to know to create two instances of A do I have to use multiplier or finger parameter of the MOS or shall I manually create 4 MOS each with size 10um/1um? When I use multiplier or finger parameter it gives only one solid instance in the layout with multiple drains/sources/gates or gates respectively.

2) Therefore I manually use 4 different MOS and simulate them in schematics. See the figure (cc1) below. To implement the configuration ABBA, I import all the four instances and create the layout as shown in cc2. But it gives LVS errors saying devices do not cross match. Why do parallel MOS with all terminals connected give us LVS errors? Am I following the right procedure for common centroid layout?
cc1.pngcc2.png

3) Please help!

Hello,

First, your problem has nothing to do with common centroid. LVS cannot understand if you used such a technique.