Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Class ab amplifier dc biasing

Status
Not open for further replies.

paulmdrdo

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
183
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,394
Hi can you tell me what KVL loop in the circuit should I use to prove that VCE1 = VCE2 = VCC voltage. Thanks.
2020-03-07 22_23_13-electronic-devices-ninth-edition-thomas-lfloyd.pdf - Foxit Reader.png
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,528
Helped
14,274
Reputation
28,811
Reaction score
12,978
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,644
Obviously, the statement is not true, except for Vout = 0. Then the answer is trivial.
 

paulmdrdo

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
183
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,394
Obviously, the statement is not true, except for Vout = 0. Then the answer is trivial.
I forgot to mention that Vs is ignored. Can you tell me that trivial answer? Do we just say that it's equal VCC becuase it's labled VCC?
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,528
Helped
14,274
Reputation
28,811
Reaction score
12,978
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,644
Vs = 0 doesn't strictly cause Vout = 0. R1, R2, Q1, Q2 can have different parameters.

You should know if labels "+VCC" and "-VCC" implicate voltage levels of +/- VCC, I just guessed so. But if you ask me if it's true...

To make it clear in circuit analysis terms, you would sketch voltage sources. Seriously, I don't understand what's exactly the objective of your question if it involves simplifications and inaccuracies.
 

albbg

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
1,254
Helped
434
Reputation
868
Reaction score
389
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Italy
Activity points
9,478
The output KVL applies to -Vcc, Vce(Q2), Vce(Q1), + Vcc. We have:

-Vcc+Vce(Q2)+VC(Q1) = Vcc that is:
Vce(Q1)+Vce(Q2) = 2Vcc

if Vout = 0 we have (set Vout=0 and apply KVL to both lower and upper transistors):

-Vcc+Vce(Q2) = 0 ==> Vce(Q2) = Vcc
and Vce(Q1) = Vcc

This condition can be reached when Vs=0 if the npn and pnp behave exactly the same (as already said by FvM). Under this condition, if Vs <> 0 then
Vce(Q1) <> Vce(Q2) and of course Vce(Q1)+Vce(Q2) = 2Vcc applies.

This means the output voltage can span from -Vcc+Vce(Q2sat) to +Vcc-Vce(Q1sat)
 

paulmdrdo

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
183
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,394
The output KVL applies to -Vcc, Vce(Q2), Vce(Q1), + Vcc. We have:

-Vcc+Vce(Q2)+VC(Q1) = Vcc that is:
Vce(Q1)+Vce(Q2) = 2Vcc

if Vout = 0 we have (set Vout=0 and apply KVL to both lower and upper transistors):

-Vcc+Vce(Q2) = 0 ==> Vce(Q2) = Vcc
and Vce(Q1) = Vcc

This condition can be reached when Vs=0 if the npn and pnp behave exactly the same (as already said by FvM). Under this condition, if Vs <> 0 then
Vce(Q1) <> Vce(Q2) and of course Vce(Q1)+Vce(Q2) = 2Vcc applies.

This means the output voltage can span from -Vcc+Vce(Q2sat) to +Vcc-Vce(Q1sat)

Hi. albg, thank you! This is the answer i was looking for!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top