Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Choke selection for AC line

Status
Not open for further replies.

spartekus

Member level 5
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
81
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Duisburg, Germany
Activity points
1,918
Hi all,

I has been searching since hour and couldnt find what i wanted to learn.
I will make a circuit, input of the circuit will be 230VAC(rms), 50Hz. I want to use Choke against to disturbance on the line. Can anyone tell me, what kind choke should i use, and how can i determine it's inductance and rated current?

Thanks a lot
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,352
Helped
4,723
Reputation
9,459
Reaction score
4,491
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
122,485
The type of choke depends on what the disturbance you are trying to eliminate is. The idea of a choke is to let one signal through (the 50Hz AC power) without hindering it but to block the passage of other unwanted signals. You need to specify what kind of signals you are trying to block and also you need to specify the current carrying capacity of the choke. That depends on the load (current in Amps) you are passing the AC on to.

Brian.
 

spartekus

Member level 5
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
81
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Duisburg, Germany
Activity points
1,918
Sorry if it sounds newbei, i just wanted to use choke, to have proper %50Hz sinus, and prevent harmonics.
I also read it is good against emc problems.
The load can have max 600mA(rms). It is a inductive load, but i dont know inductance of the load(solenoid).

Thank you.
 
Last edited:

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,352
Helped
4,723
Reputation
9,459
Reaction score
4,491
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
122,485
If it's an inductive load it should ignore most incoming interference and produce no constant EMC from itself. Sounds like what you really need is an X2 rated capacitor across the AC rather than an inductor in series with it.

Brian.
 

spartekus

Member level 5
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
81
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Duisburg, Germany
Activity points
1,918
there will be also triac and optocouplers, voltage of ac load will be decided via triac.
Do you think, i dont need any choke? TRiac will be triggered by microcontroller(microcontroller is not on my circuit, it is other circuit).

i decided to use two varistor one is for input of circuit against to overvoltage second paralell to load against inrush current. Am i doing right?
thank you
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,352
Helped
4,723
Reputation
9,459
Reaction score
4,491
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
122,485
Triacs will introduce switchig transisents so in that case you should use a filter. I would be inclined to use a ready made one such as these examples:
http://uk.farnell.com/webapp/wcs/st...tegoryId=700000005487&langId=44&storeId=10151

To stop inrush current you have to wire something in series with the incoming power so it limits how much can flow. Look for NTC thermistors or something like these:
http://uk.farnell.com/webapp/wcs/st...tegoryId=700000005940&langId=44&storeId=10151

For over voltage you wire across the incoming lines so it can clip the excess and convert it to heat. More examples:
http://uk.farnell.com/webapp/wcs/st...mov&pageSize=25&showResults=true&pf=110326048

Brian.
 

spartekus

Member level 5
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
81
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Duisburg, Germany
Activity points
1,918
thank you, it will be my first circuit, every knowledge is usefull to me.
Could you tell me, what is difference between,
current limiter and surge absorber, varistor? When would i need surge absorber varistor, it is different than overvoltage varistors i assume.
i was thinking to use this before you told me about current limiter
http://uk.farnell.com/panasonic-ele...stor-14mm-disc-430v/dp/1845473?ost=ERZV14D431

Ali
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,352
Helped
4,723
Reputation
9,459
Reaction score
4,491
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
122,485
A current limiter is basically a resistor you wire in series with the incoming current. You could use a normal resistor but then it would always be limiting the current when you really only want it to work for a moment at the time you switch on. The special property of surge (inrush) limitiers is their resistance drops sharply when they warm up. When you first switch on they are assumed to be cold and have a relatively high resistance so the current is kept low but the internal heat they generate warms them up and makes the resistance drop, making them look more like a short circuit. This is why they are called NTC devices, NTC = Negative Temperature Coefficient. So they are designed to run warm or hot in normal operation.

A surge absorber (aka varistor or MOV) is also a resistor but this time with a different property. It's value is normally very high so little current flows through it but at a certain voltage the resistance drops sharply. In a circuit where something before the absorber can limit or cut the current, wiring one across the voltage makes it conduct if the voltage is exceeded so it can't go any higher. So you normally pick a 'clamping voltage' a little higher than the highest voltage you expect to see in normal use, the absorber then does nothing but if the voltage increases it (hopefully) safely conducts it away. The mechanical design of the absorber is such that it can handle very brief high current surges, often in the thousands of amps range, without damage although it can only sustain that kind of current for a tiny fraction of a second.

Brian.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top