Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Capacitance meters - accurate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pha5e

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
92
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Location
I am not here - it's an illusion
Activity points
1,854

dandybabes

Newbie level 3
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,297
Re: Capacitance meters

Hi,

Instead of buying the above mentioned multimeter, i would suggest u to go for Agilent Multi meter. In that you have all the features like voltage, current, diode, capacitance, resistance, temperature.
 

Pha5e

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
92
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Location
I am not here - it's an illusion
Activity points
1,854
Re: Capacitance meters

Hi,

Instead of buying the above mentioned multimeter, i would suggest u to go for Agilent Multi meter. In that you have all the features like voltage, current, diode, capacitance, resistance, temperature.
I have compared the capacitance measurement accuracy of an Agilent handheld Multimeter (U1231A), and it seems that it is similar to the dedicated capacitance meters I posted links to above?

Plus, the Agilent Multimeters are much more expensive!

I was thinking about purchasing an all-in-one Multimeter but surely, a dedicated capacitance meter would be more accurate?
 

sky_123

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
1,170
Helped
279
Reputation
566
Reaction score
273
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
9,598
What need do you really have? Usually a capacitor has it's value already marked.
I have an LC meter but I rarely use the C.

I have this device and it is accurate when checking with a 2.5% tolerance capacitor in the hundred pF range (and that is enough accuracy for me). It measures at a frequency of
a few hundred kHz.
 

Pha5e

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
92
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Location
I am not here - it's an illusion
Activity points
1,854
What need do you really have? Usually a capacitor has it's value already marked.
I have an LC meter but I rarely use the C.

I have this device and it is accurate when checking with a 2.5% tolerance capacitor in the hundred pF range (and that is enough accuracy for me). It measures at a frequency of
a few hundred kHz.
My requirement is to test capacitors in circuit when fault-finding and also loose capacitors from stock to ensure they aren't way-off their marked value.

The LC-100S looks like a good unit with 1% accuracy?
 

sky_123

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
1,170
Helped
279
Reputation
566
Reaction score
273
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
9,598
I've not tested in-circuit but yes, it seems fairly accurate from the few times I've used it.
 

sky_123

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
1,170
Helped
279
Reputation
566
Reaction score
273
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
9,598
I'm not sure, it looks like it may internally contain the same board, with a battery supply. The specs look identical at
first glance. Personally I'm happy with mine, it is powered by USB, and I always work with my laptop nearby anyway,
to power it.
 

snail888

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
41
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
china
Activity points
1,452
in my opinion,for circuit debug,a dedicated capacitor meter is more free.You don't need to change function switch.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top