Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can I write C++ games for FPGA game console?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyboman

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
FPGA game console

first of all i apologize for posting this question here, but i just couldn't find any other forum to post it at.

i'd like to build and FPGA game console in order to learn more about digital design and computers in general. i want to implement something like this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KmNaEnPSM9o

in comments they say that they used Verilog to create all the graphics and c++ to write actual games. i'm new to digital design (but i'm getting my head around it) and i think i can build a vga controller. i think i can even build a tetris on an fpga. but i can't figure out how did these guys made it read the c++ code from the sd card. i understand that it is possible to implement an sd card reader in fpga, but how do you make an fpga read c++ code, that is unclear to me.

i would really appreciate any advice, insights, suggestions, links and/or recommendations on what books i might need to read.

thanks

Re: FPGA game console