Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Battery charger question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asparagus

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am an amateur electronics enthusiast, I was trying to understand the inner workings battery chargers like Turnigy Accucell 6 Charger.
See Video:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3LfU4mjgpyM

My understanding is that there are no chips specific to Lithium Ion or NiMh battery. The charging algorithm is driven by the micro processor. In theory would it be possible to reprogram the microprocessor to introduce support to new battery chemistry? Can one design a battery charger that can support a new type of battery via remote software upgrade?

Why not use contactless card technology? The memory must contain the charging information for the battery, including types that have not yet been designed. It could be better if the battery memory just contained a type number and the charger held the look up table which can be updated via the net.
Frank

Why not use contactless card technology? The memory must contain the charging information for the battery, including types that have not yet been designed. It could be better if the battery memory just contained a type number and the charger held the look up table which can be updated via the net.
Frank