Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Battery charger for powersupply

Status
Not open for further replies.

morten

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
For a simple burglar alarm I need 12 V and 500 mA max. and a batterybackup. I have found a 12 V lead flees battery 2,3 Ah and a batterycharger (600 mA at 13,8 V). Now I would like to ask if some one knows if it is possible to run the alarm direct over the charger and battery, and then save a 12 V power supply?

I am a hobbyist :)

Morten

The answer is maybe. If the alarm can tolerate +14 or more volts and possibly a negative voltage spike when the charger is unplugged then you do not need a PS. As you look at the alarm requirements you might get by with a series diode to eliminate the chance of a neg spike. If you need +3 or 5 volts for a MCU or logic a voltage regulator could be added.

In summary a battery charger and battery is a power supply, you may need a few power conditioning components after it depending on the requirements of the alarm.

Hi HMS

Thanks very much for the answer. The alarm runs 10 - 15 V/DC or 9- 12 V/AC. Think the series diode and and maybe a 15 V zener diode to ground can help. Just want to keep it as simple as possible. :)

Morten

Hi HMS

Thanks very much for the answer. The alarm runs 10 - 15 V/DC or 9- 12 V/AC. Think the series diode and and maybe a 15 V zener diode to ground can help. Just want to keep it as simple as possible. :)

Morten

If you go with the Zener you might want a fuse or a resistor in series with the input.