Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

basic inductance question

Status
Not open for further replies.

leto

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
15
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,424
I'm trying to practice the inductance principles, so I made a sine wave generator and connect it to coil. I must to analyze the inductance ouput of a secondary coil next to. My question is, Why the sine wave look distorted when I apply the sine wave signal over a primary coil ? What would I do ?. When I connect a cap to GND it looks better. My sine wave is 3vpp at 2,5khz.

Thank you
leto
 

ceaser

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
112
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Egypt
Activity points
2,681
i think there is DC component in the sine wave you entered in the transformer

when you add the capacitor, it blocks DC component

this as i know
 

zajbanlik

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 26, 2006
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,700
Hi

I agree with you because than transformer enter saturation mode and its characteristic became nonlinear.

Regards
 

leto

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
15
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,424
may be... but it only happens when I put a specific cap value about 4.7 uF. if I put a bigger or smaller one the signal appear distorted. And I'm looking the signal with AC mode in the oscilloscope I suppose this must filter DC component. or not ?

I attached a oscilloscope output photo.
Thanks again.
leto
 

zajbanlik

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 26, 2006
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,700
Hi

Did you try to reduce amplitude of input signal?
It could be also helpfull to put resistor (let's say 220 Ohm in serie with coil) to reduce amplitude current.
Also concerning capacitor. Be aware that you mustn't use tantal or electrolit capacitor.

Regards
 

kevinj

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
118
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,233
the capacitor reduces distortion, but your scope has a dc & ac coupling option. try to switch the coupling from dc to ac.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top